Schools that showcase excellent transformation cited at 4th EETA

Posted under aew on July 21, 2016
Share on:

In celebration of the role of collaboration, e-learning technology, and transformative education in raising the 21st Century Whole Child, five outstanding schools, a schools division, and an academic leader were honored for their inspirational achievements at the 4th Excellence in Educational Transformation Awards (EETA) held recently at the Dolphy Theater of the ABS-CBN compound.

This year’s EETA winners are: Miriam College (top award, Most Transformative School for Learning Effectiveness and School Efficiency), Isulan Central School SPED Center of Isulan, Sultan Kudarat (Innovations in Access to Education and Child Safety, Security, and Sensitivity), Casisang Central School (CCS) of Malaybalay, Bukidnon (Innovations in Quality Education: Curriculum Design and Development, Learning Materials, and Learning Methodologies and Delivery Systems for Learning Effectiveness), Sisters of Mary School-Adlas, Inc. of Cavite (Innovations in Quality Education: Education for the 21st Century), Ateneo de Davao Junior High School (Innovations in Learning Environment and Institutional Leadership and Direction Setting) and the Schools Division of Bayawan City of Negros Oriental (Innovations in Leadership, Governance and Management).  The awardees each received trophies and cash prizes: P500,000 for the “Most Transformative School” and P300,000 for the other category winners.

Edizon Angeles Fermin, Ph. D., principal of Miriam College, became the first recipient of the Oscar M. Lopez (OML) Award for Educational Leadership. As a tribute to Dr. Oscar M. Lopez, Chairman-Emeritus of the Lopez Group of Companies and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Knowledge Channel Foundation, Inc., the award is given to an educator who has developed and implemented transformative programs and has led a school, district, division, or region towards excellent learning outcomes.  Dr. Fermin, whose biggest transformation effort thus far was his vital role in transitioning the focus of the curriculum from STEAM to DREAM (Design, Robotics, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics with technology built into Robotics), received a P300,000 cash prize, trophy, and a Knowledge Channel On-Demand package.

The first and only educational award in the country that recognizes unique ideas and best practices in school management and teaching and learning innovations — with the aim of promoting and sharing them with other schools – EETA was organized by Bayan Academy in partnership with Knowledge Channel Foundation, Inc., Rex Book Store Inc., ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya Foundation, and the Department of Education (DepEd).

Moving beyond boundaries

For the opening part, the audience were engaged in learning sessions by Dr. Cecilia B. Manikan and Dr. Eduardo A. Morato, Jr., Chairman and President of Bayan Academy, which anchored on the theme “Repositioning Schools for the Whole Child of the 21st Century.” Both resource speakers touched various points through the winning schools’ case studies, underscoring in particular the greater learning benefits of adapting the Whole Brain Learning System in different learning phases and situations.

During his talk, Dr. Morato emphasized that for today’s generation of Filipino students to achieve exceptional combination of high-level academic achievement and breadth of learning, stakeholders must become part of the advocacy now.

Inspirational empowerment

A thought-provoking introspect on the essence of transformation in education was delivered in a speech by the Guest Speaker, Bro. Armin Luistro, former Education Secretary. Luistro, who strongly advocated for the implementation of the K-12 program, inspired the audience on the importance of unity and cooperation in uplifting the Philippine educational system.

Before presenting the OML Award to Dr. Fermin, Rina Lopez Bautista, President of Knowledge Channel Foundation, gave a heart-warming tribute and introduction to Dr. Lopez for his invaluable contributions, long-standing commitment and leadership in uplifting Philippine education systems and standards.

The five winners, in their separate speeches, also thanked Bayan Academy and its partners for the honor and opportunity to become part of their mission. Citing teamwork, collaboration, and passion for teaching, the awardees also expressed their consolidated support to continue the advocacy on transformative education.

The culminating ceremony also highlighted the launch of the 5th EETA Awards and the launch of the book “Excellence in Educational Transformation: Text and Cases, Volume 4” by Dr. Eduardo Morato, Jr., Chairman & President of Bayan Academy.


Transformative School Education and Child SafetyMethodologies Delivery Systems Mary School-Adlas Governance and Management
Share this story: